!DOCTYPE html>

George Crabtree

Advisory BoarD

Director, JCESR / Argonne National Laboratory

George Crabtree is a Senior Scientist, Distinguished Fellow and Associate Division Director in the Materials Science Division at Argonne National Laboratory, and a Distinguished Professor of Physics, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He served as the director of Argonne’s Materials Science Division from 2001 to 2008. His research interests include materials science, sustainable energy, nanoscale superconductors and magnets, vortex matter in superconductors and highly correlated electrons in metals. Crabtree is an internationally recognized expert in superconductive materials. He has won numerous awards for his research, including the Kamerlingh Onnes Prize in 2003 for his work on the physics of vortices in high-temperature superconductors. He is a four-time recipient of the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Award for Outstanding Scientific Accomplishment in Solid State Physics and a two-time winner of the University of Chicago Award for Distinguished Performance at Argonne. For his pioneering development of Magnetic Flux Imaging Systems, he received an R&D 100 Award. He is an American Physical Society Fellow, a charter member of the Institute for Scientific Information’s Highly Cited Researchers in Physics and a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. Through his prolific career, Crabtree has delivered more than 100 invited talks at national and international scientific conferences and has led workshops for the DOE on hydrogen, solar energy, superconductivity, materials under extreme environments and science for energy technology. He co-chaired the Undersecretary of Energy’s assessment of DOE’s Applied Energy Program, and has testified before the U.S. Congress on the hydrogen economy and meeting sustainable energy challenges. In addition to his work at Argonne, Crabtree is a Distinguished Professor of Physics, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering and Director of the Energy Initiative at the University of Illinois at Chicago. Prior to this, he was a professor of physics at Northern Illinois University. He received his Ph.D. in condensed matter physics from the University of Illinois at Chicago.